Alumni Association

The College of Law has helped more lawyers achieve their legal ambitions than any other legal education provider.

We have trained generations of solicitors and barristers and many of our former students have gone on to successful careers in law where others have made their mark in business or politics.

The College of Law Alumni Association connects these graduates over the years to create the largest network of legal professionals.

Graduates of the College's award programs automatically receive membership of the Association.

members of the alumni association RECEIVE

  • Exclusive networking event invitations and career development opportunities
  • A free quarterly e-newsletter with the latest in alumni updates and legal news
  • Eligibility for advanced standing in the LLM (Applied Law)
  • Discounted CPD courses with The College of Law

2017 Student Essay/Video Competition

The College of Law Alumni Association has announced an exciting change to its Student Competition for 2017. In past years the competition has been for an essay responding to a general question on legal practice. From 2017, students may still submit an essay up to 2000 words, but especially creative students may instead submit a video (up to three minutes long) to achieve the same thing.

Doug Humphreys, President of The College of Law Alumni Association, said, “It will be fascinating to see how law students and current practitioners approach the question which is both timely and timeless in our ancient but endlessly evolving profession. It’s also a question which offers equal scope to both writers and film-makers to be inventive and artful. I look forward very much to seeing the shortlist which is always of very high calibre.”

Who Can Enter
The competition is open to all 2017 enrolled College of Law students undertaking Practical Legal Training (PLT) in Australia, The Professional Legal Studies Course (PLSC) in New Zealand, and Applied Law Program (ALP) students. 

What To Film Or Write About? 
Students are asked to use their creative flair and interpret, in 2000 words or on video, the selected topic:  ‘What makes a lawyer in 2017?’

The Deadline
Entries close at 5pm AEST on Friday 15 September 2017.
How To Enter 
Entries for the competition have now closed. 

This is a great opportunity for law students to show their enthusiasm and knowledge of the field. We encourage students to be as creative as they like and it is entirely up to them how they interpret the topic - whether broad, niche, mainstream or left field.  We are looking forward to seeing the range of submissions.  

colaa executive committee

  • President – Doug Humphreys, Veterans Review Board
  • Secretary – Sheridan McMahon, Turner Freeman
  • Treasurer – Jason Elias, Elias Recruitment
  • Member – Vivian Kao, New Zealand Alumni
  • Member – Rohan Goyne, ACT
  • Member – Randhir Amoganathan
  • Member – Rebecca Fogerty
  • Member – Matthew Williams

queensland chapter

  • Chair – Emily Murphy
  • Member – Shallice Cockram
  • Member – Laura Field
  • Member – Nicky Mitchell
  • Member – Madeline Fouhy

western australian chapter

  • Chairman – Mr Randir Amoganathan
  • Vice Chairman – Ms Kimi Shah
  • Secretary –  Mr Clarence Ling

victorian chapter

  • Hugh Bastiaan
  • Gary Zervas
  • Alexandra Brand
  • Natalie te Wierik
  • Nadine Harrison