The College of Law honours graduates, prize winners at the Spring 2016 Academic Awards Ceremony

Posted on November 1, 2016 at 8:23 am | awards
Photo of Front of Parliament House 1

The College of Law was proud to formally recognise graduates of its Applied Law Programs at the Spring 2016 Academic Awards Ceremony on 24 October 2016 at the Strangers Dining Room in Parliament House, Sydney.

At the ceremony, over 70 graduates of the Applied Law Programs were conferred their degrees and diplomas, most of whom received the LLM (Applied Law).

The following graduates were recognised as Spring 2016 Prize winners:

Brianna McDougall
Sandra Paul Memorial Prize for Best Graduating Student in the Family Law Program, presented by The Honourable Justice Ann Ainslie-Wallace

Family Law

This prize has been generously donated by the Paul family in the name the late Sandra Paul, a well-known and respected family lawyer. Sandra Paul was admitted to practice in 1984 after obtaining a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of New South Wales. Sandra worked principally in family law – first as a Senior Associate at law firm Clayton Utz before commencing a partnership practice with the firm that is was known as Paul & Paul Lawyers, now part of Mills Oakley Lawyers. Sandra was known for her dedication to the law and her commitment to family law.

Kevin Finn
de Groots Prize for Best Graduating Student in the Wills & Estates Program, presented by Phillip McGowan, Director, de Groots Sydney

wills and estates

de Groots is a specialist law firm, established in 1986, focusing exclusively on the areas of estate planning, estate administration and estate litigation. With lawyers in Sydney and Brisbane, they provide services to private clients throughout Australia and overseas.

Dr John McGill, Director of Practitioner Education at the College, said “It is a great privilege to have a specialist firm such as de Groots support an important prize such as this.”

Nathanael Kitingan

Best Graduating Student Prize in the Commercial Litigation Program, sponsored by SRM Lawyers, presented by SRM Senior Lawyer and Former College of Law Adjunct Lecturer, Renee Stevens.

SRM Lawyers

“Having been involved with the Applied Law Program for a number of years as a lecturer, I understand the level of dedication and perseverance that is required by students to successfully complete the Masters course,” said SRM Senior Lawyer and Former College of Law Adjunct Lecturer, Renee Stevens.  “It is for this reason that SRM Lawyers is honoured to sponsor the prize for the best graduating student in the Commercial Litigation program.  Apart from the practical skills and knowledge gained throughout the course, the award formally recognises this student’s exceptional effort and commitment.”

SRM Lawyers is a specialist commercial, litigation and insolvency firm in Sydney, whose clients include financial institutions, large and small corporations, accountants, liquidators, bankruptcy trustees and individuals.  As well as advising on issues relating to insolvency recoveries and administrations, SRM provides advice on all aspects of commercial agreements and disputes.  The firm’s Renee Stevens is an accredited commercial litigation specialist with the Law Society of NSW and is a member of the Specialist Accreditation Commercial Litigation Advisory Committee.  The College of Law is honoured to have SRM Lawyers supporting our Best Graduating Student Prize.

Caroline Marsh
ACC Australia Prize for the Best Graduating Student in the In-House Practice Program, presented by Vice President of ACC (NSW), Lori Middlehurst.

For more information about ACC Australia, click here.

ACC Australia

Camilla Davidson
STEP Best Student Prize in Estate Planning, presented by TEP NSW Branch Chair Peter Bobbin.

STEP is the worldwide professional association for those advising families across generations.  With nearly 20,000 members across 95 countries, STEP has a fast-growing presence in Australia.

The College of Law is honoured to be working alongside STEP to help further grow this presence, and offers graduates of the Masters of Laws (Applied Law) majoring in Wills & Estates Full Membership of STEP.

Oscar Boag Taylor

Winner of the Law Society of New South Wales prize for overall excellence in the PLT program, presented by The Honourable Justice Ann Ainslie-Wallace