The College of Law Academic Board

Members of the Academic Board are appointed by the Board of Governors with the exceptions of the General Manager, Education (chair), CEO & Principal, and Director, Academic Policy & Quality who are all ex officio. The academic staff representative is elected for a two year term. External members are permanent appointments at the pleasure of the Board of Governors. ​ ​

Member   Appointed Qualifications Experience
Mr Lewis Patrick (chair) Lewis Patrick August 2005 BA LLB (Sydney); LLM (UTS); Grad Cert in University Teaching and Learning (CSU); Solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW Lewis Patrick is General Manager, Education and Deputy CEO of the College. He has been a Lecturer at the College of Law since 1992, and a solicitor in private practice since 1978.
Justice Robert Benjamin (deputy chair)  Justice Benjamin August 2008 Dip Law (SAB); LLM (UTS) Justice Benjamin has been a Judge of the Family Court of Australia since August 2005; he is based at the Hobart Registry of that Court. He is also a Presidential Member of the Australian Administrative Appeals Tribunal.Justice Benjamin has a deep interest in legal education.  He is involved in legal training through the University of Tasmania and the Tasmanian legal practice course. At one time he chaired the Education Committee of the Family Court and was for many years a member of the organising committee for the Judges Orientation Course operated under the auspices of the National Judicial College.Prior to appointment, Justice Benjamin practiced at a private profession for thirty years, almost exclusively in family law. In 2003, Justice Benjamin was President of the Law Society New South Wales and had chaired its Family Law Committee for many years.
Prof Robert Meyenn (External Academic – Education) A August 2005 Cert Teaching (Balmain Teachers College); Adv Dip Education (Bristol); M Ed (Bristol); PhD (Aston) Professor Meyenn is one of Australia’s foremost university educators, holding such positions (now and formerly) as Provost CSU-Ontario at Charles Sturt University and President of the Australian Association for Research in Education.
Prof Ross Grantham (External Academic – Law) Ross Grantham August 2008 LLM (Hons) (Auckland), BCL (Oxford), LLD (Queensland) Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand Professor Grantham is Professor of Commercial Law and Director of Teaching and Learning at the TC Beirne School of Law, The University of Queensland. He is the author of a number of monographs and casebooks, numerous journal articles, and has edited four collections of scholarly essays. Professor Grantham is also a member of the editorial boards of The Company Lawyer and the Journal of Corporate Law Studies and is the Australian editor of the Journal of Business Law.
Ms Jodie Masson (Partner, William James) (Industry Representative) Jodie_Masson February 2016 BA LLB (Macq); Solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW Jodie Masson specialises in complex property transactions and advices. Her experience includes acquisitions (including due diligence), sales, leasing and licensing documentation (including national retail leases legislation compliance), project documentation and general property law advice. She was made a fellow member of the Australian Property Institute as part of the API’s Property Leaders’ Program in 2011. She is listed in Best Lawyers in Australia (2015) in the practice area of Real Property Law and was a finalist in the NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Award for “Women Lawyer of the Year in Private Practice”.
 Mr Neville Carter (CEO & Principal) N August 2008 BA LLB (Sydney); MBA (Melb); Solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW Neville Carter is the CEO & Principal of the College of Law. He is a legal practitioner and academic of nearly 40 years standing and established the IPLS program in New Zealand and a similar program for PLT students in Malaysia. Mr Carter has been Principal of the College of Law for 20 years.
Ms Kathryn Kearley (Academic Staff Representative – Assistant Director (Learning Design) K November 2013 BA LLB (UNSW); LLM (Hons) (UNE); Master of Higher Education (Macq); Solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW and Accredited Specialist (Family Law) Kathryn Kearley has over twenty years experience as a legal practitioner and ten years experience as a lecturer at the College of Law. She is a member of the Research & Scholarship Committee and was recently appointed to a new position created to enhance the College’s educational design capacity.
Mr Adrian Deans (Secretary) (Director, Academic Policy & Quality) A February 2006 BA LLB (Macq); LLM (Sydney); Grad Cert in University Teaching and Learning (CSU); Solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW Adrian Deans is a legal practitioner with sixteen years experience in College management and academic governance. He is a former member of the NSW Dept of Education & Training Accreditation Panel, a former AUQA Auditor, and is currently a member of the TEQSA Panel of Experts.